Ars Iuvenum, a chamber ensemble in Podlasie Opera and Philharmonic, celebrates its 30 years of artistic activity. The idea to form the group was born in May 1988. Since the beginning it has been led by Grzegorz Puchalski, clarinetist.

“There was one particular thing that made the emerging group really special,” reminisces Grzegorz Puchalski. “Alongside flautist Magdalena Jakubowska-Puchalska, cellist Ewa Łoś, and pianist Leszek Kot, we have adopted one main idea: not to form a fixed cast, but to change it depending on prepared repertoire. Thanks to that, for three decades we could make our chamber musical fascinations true, performing works of various composers, of various centuries, and in various musical casts, from duets and trios, to even 14-people teams.

To date, in various Ars Iuvenum teams there was a total of over 60 musicians, representing all of the orchestral instruments. The artistic achievements of Ars Iuvenum include various concert programmes, covering works from the Baroque to modern times, that enables showing the richness of chamber music in different styles. During the solemn concert that will accompany forthcoming anniversary, Ars Iuvenum will perform an overture for clarinet, piano and string quartet by Sergei Rachmaninov, a sextet by Francis Poulenc, a septet by John Metcalf and a decet by Jean Françaix.

Concert Hall / Podleśna 2 / 19.00

Grzegorz Puchalski—clarinet, artistic director
Magdalena Jakubowska-Puchalska—flute
Luca Neccia—oboe
Siergiej Janowicz—horn
Magdalena Kania—bassoon
Stanisław Kuk—violin
Paweł Kuk—violin
Radosław Koper—viola
Ewa Łoś—cello
Ryszard Wolicki—double bass
Aldona Poczwardowska—harp
Robert Marat—piano

Sergei Prokofiev—Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34
Francis Poulenc—Sextet for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon and piano
John Metcalf—Septet for flute, clarinet, harp and string quartet
Jean Françaix—Decet for brass quintet and string quintet